The Yankton Sioux Tribe adopted a Tax Code, Title 16, in 2006.  The Tax Code confirms the inherent sovereignty of the Yankton Sioux Tribe and authorizes the levying and collection of taxes, licensing and regulating certain conduct within the jurisdiction of the Tribe, providing financing for the current expenses of the Tribal Government, and the ability to expand Tribal Government operations and services.

The Tax Revenue Office is providing the administrative functions to enforce the provisions of the Title 16
Tax Code.  The primary mission is to collect tax revenues and business license fees required by law.
All vendors and contractors transacting business with the Yankton Sioux Tribe or any of the tribal entities including the Fort Randall Casino are required to obtain a Yankton Sioux Tribe Business License from this office.  The cost is $100.00 and is valid for 1 year.  

The Tax Code provides for a 5 member Tax Commission to serve for four years and enforce the Tribe’s tax laws.  The current list of Yankton Sioux Tax Commissioners and the length of their terms are listed below:

    Shirley Arrow, Lake Andes Tax Commissioner    Term expires January 2013

    Frances Espinoza, Marty Tax Commissioner     Term expires January 2015

    Lyle Dion, Greenwood Tax Commissioner    Term expires January 2013
    Pam Aungie, Wagner Tax Commissioner        Term expires January 2015

    John Stone, Member at Large            Term expires January 2012

If you have any questions or need further information please contact this office at (605) 384-3641 or email